Publicación de blog

Cornerstone enhances security for government users: Advancing to DISA IL 4

Steve Dobberowsky

Director, Strategy and Value Service, Cornerstone

Government software demands a keen focus on security considerations and robust protective measures. Enter the Federal Risk and Authorization Management Program (FedRAMP), a sweeping initiative designed to revolutionize the security assessment, authorization and continuous monitoring of cloud products and services across the entire government landscape.

Within the labyrinth of FedRAMP lie diverse tiers of security authorization, each tailored to the nuanced nature of the data under protection. Typically, in civilian agencies, the degree of Personally Identifiable Information (PII) used in the system will determine the level of FedRAMP authorization necessary for security. Safeguarding government software has evolved into a sophisticated art form.

Our enduring dedication

As one of the only talent management solutions to receive FedRAMP IL2 authorization, Cornerstone has demonstrated a long-standing commitment to ensuring a secure environment for U.S. government clients looking to effectively recruit, train, manage and connect their employees.

Cornerstone is now actively pursuing DISA IL4 certification, having begun the assessment process with a 3PAO. By providing DoD IL4, departments can store, process and transmit this controlled, unclassified information related to military or contingency operations.

The DISA Impact Level explained

Within the Defense Department, Impact Levels are customized to accommodate DoD Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI). The DISA Impact Level is contingent on the severity of a data breach or leak. Recognizing the heightened sensitivity of Defense and Intelligence data, the Defense Department has established its own security authorization program, surpassing FedRAMP's moderate authorization.

This program provides DISA IL4 security controls and validations, catering to both Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) and Non-CUI, Non-Critical Mission Information, or Non-National Security Systems. Attaining DISA IL4 certification empowers software providers to deliver solutions in a secure environment suitable for impact levels higher than the minimum DISA IL2 level. The categorization is rooted in classification and the potential repercussions if the confidentiality, integrity or availability of DoD information or information systems are compromised.

Striding confidently into the future

In the complex landscape of government cloud security, these multifaceted requirements underscore the commitment necessary to navigate through the intricacies of compliance and readiness, emphasizing the pivotal role each control plays in safeguarding sensitive information.

Cornerstone's active pursuit of enhanced security controls and validations reflects our commitment to excellence. With a keen eye on the details of data protection, we navigate through numerous security parameters, emphasizing the crucial role each control plays in fortifying our solutions. And we remain steadfast in our mission to create a secure environment for our government partners.

As Cornerstone continues to evolve and adapt to the ever-evolving landscape of government software security, our optimism remains high and our determination unwavering. Together with our government clients, we stride confidently into a future where the security of information is not just a requirement but a shared vision of success.

Recursos relacionados

¿Quieres seguir aprendiendo? Explora nuestros productos, las historias de nuestros clientes y las actualidades del sector.

Cornerstone + SumTotal


Cornerstone + SumTotal

Programa una consulta personalizada

Habla con un experto de Cornerstone sobre cómo podemos apoyarte con las necesidades de gestión de personal de tu organización.

© Cornerstone 2024
Información legal